St. John’s Tower
St. John’s Tower was the main fortification for the defense of the historic port of Dubrovnik. The city port was closed off with a chain, and this chain had to be secured to a fortification of sorts, which was the reason why the construction of this tower began in 1346. Dubrovnik native Paskoje Milicevic completed the work on the tower between 1552 and 1557, finalizing the exterior shape of the present-day St. John’s Tower, which today houses the city aquarium on the ground floor, and the Maritime Museum on the upper floors.
Click on the pics to discover each port city and enter its virtual museum